Follow Us On

  • Facebook


All Arctic uluses of Yakutia are included in the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation

The territories of the eight Arctic regions of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) are included in the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation. The relevant Decree “On Amendments to the Decree of the President of the Russian Federation of May 2, 2014 No. 296“ On Land Territories of the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation ”was  signed by  President of Russia Vladimir Putin.

The head of state included eight districts of Yakutia in the land areas of the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation - Abyisky, Verkhnekolymsky, Verkhoyansky, Zhigansky, Momsky, Oleneksky, Srednekolymsky and Eveno-Bytantaysky regions, which are fully or partially located above the Arctic Circle. Previously, only five of the thirteen arctic regions of the republic - Allaikhovsky, Anabarsky, Bulunsky, Nizhnekolymsky and Ust-Yansky - were part of the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation. The inclusion of these territories into the Arctic zone will allow extending to them the effect of programs for the development of the Arctic.

Today, the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation includes two Far Eastern constituent entities of the Russian Federation: the Sakha Republic (Yakutia) - in part and the Chukotka Autonomous Region - completely, as well as the Murmansk region, the Nenets Autonomous District, and the Municipal Formation of the Vorkuta city district (Komi Republic). In addition, the Norilsk city district, a number of territories of the Arkhangelsk region, including the municipality “Arkhangelsk city”, lands and islands located in the Arctic Ocean were included in the Arctic zone.


Recall that on February 26 of this year, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a decree on the transfer of the functions of the Ministry of Eastern and Eastern Development of Russia to develop and implement state policy and legal regulation in the field of socio-economic development of the Arctic.

© Copyright 2010-16 Invest in Russia Hanko Hackberry Group All rights reserved.